decorative wind sculpture.JPG

About us

We are a group of faculty, staff, students, and alumni that have made tremendous accomplishments in sustainability both on and off campus. This website is dedicated to promoting the extraordinary work that the TCU community has done as well as being a repository for all things “sustainability” at TCU and in the wider community.


Our group includes faculty from at least eleven departments across campus, staff from administrative offices and groundskeeping, plus students from Student Government (SGA), the Environmental Club, and the Chancellor's Leadership program, and many other individuals who are passionate about sustainability.

Position statement

The TCU Sustainability Committee presented the following statement to the Student Government Association, Staff Assembly, and Faculty Senate, each of which voted in support of using it to declare TCU's commitment to sustainability:

TCU promotes sustainability (meeting the needs of the present without compromising future generations’ ability to meet their own needs) within the areas of:

  1. Academics

  2. Environmental Stewardship

  3. Health and Well-being

  4. Campus Operations

TCU is committed to social equity, economic security, and environmental protection.  Sustainability strengthens the mission of educating individuals to think and act as ethical leaders and responsible citizens in the global community.

TCU Sustainability Committee charge

The Sustainability Committee reports to the Provost and Faculty Senate. The committee's charge is to monitor the development and implementation of University’s sustainability policy and design mechanisms through which the University’s sustainability performance and practices can be made known to the university community.

Current members

Coles-Ashley-profile-lg2_edited.jpg

Dr. Ashley Coles, chair

Geography

a.coles@tcu.edu

Horned lizard profile photo.png

Ann Bailey

Information Technology

a.bailey@tcu.edu

Horned lizard profile photo.png

Brendan L. Lavy

Environmental Sciences

b.lavy@tcu.edu

Horned lizard profile photo.png

Drew Stewart

Sustainability Coordinator, Orion Amphitheater

drew.stewart@tcu.edu

Horned lizard profile photo.png

Rich Adickes

Risk Management

r.adickes@tcu.edu

Horned lizard profile photo.png

Camden Butterworth

Environmental Science

c.butterworth@tcu.edu

Horned lizard profile photo.png

Alexander Harris

Horned lizard profile photo.png

K. Elaine Lysinger

Horned lizard profile photo.png

Riley O'Connor

Environmental Sciences

r.oconnor@tcu.edu

Horned lizard profile photo.png

Lauren Trotter

Environmental Sciences

l.e.trotter@tcu.edu

Dave-aftandilian-profile-lg2_edited.jpg

Dr. Dave Aftandilian

Anthropology & Human-Animal Relationships

d.aftandilian@tcu.edu

Horned lizard profile photo.png

Kate Evans

Nutritional Sciences

k.bailey@tcu.edu

Horned lizard profile photo.png

Gina Jarman Hill

Nutritional Sciences

g.jarman@tcu.edu

Horned lizard profile photo.png

Dr. Wendy Macias

Strategic Communication

w.macias@tcu.edu

Horned lizard profile photo.png

Camilla Price